RESOLUTION 2018-10

A RESOLUTION ESTABLISHING FIRE DISTRICT NO. 2, COUNTY OF BARTON, KANSAS, CONSISTING OF THE TOWNSHIPS OF ALBION, EUREKA, NORTH HOMESTEAD, SOUTH HOMESTEAD AND UNION AND THE CITIES OF HOISINGTON, OLMITZ AND SUSANK

- **WHEREAS**, a cooperative effort has been made by local governing bodies to determine a more effective and efficient method for delivering emergency response related to fire suppression, prevention, and education; and
- **WHEREAS**, several governing bodies have worked in unison to create a fire district to improve the well-being of all citizens and the safety of their property.
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Board of Commissioners of Barton County, Kansas, that:
- **FURTHER,** a Public Hearing was held at 9:00 a.m., May 14, 2018, regarding the establishment of a Fire District to consist of the Townships of Albion, Eureka, North Homestead, South Homestead and Union and the Cities of Hoisington, Olmitz and Susank be organized in the Barton County for the protection of lives and property from the hazards of fire.
- **FURTHER**, Fire District No. 2, County of Barton, Kansas, is hereby created pursuant to KSA 19-3601 and shall consist of the Townships of Albion, Eureka, North Homestead, South Homestead and Union and the Cities of Hoisington, Olmitz and Susank. Such district is advisable and in the public interest for the protection of lives and property from the hazards of fire.
- FURTHER, there is hereby created, pursuant to KSA 19-3612a, a Board of Trustees of Fire District No. 2, County of Barton, Kansas. Said Board of Trustees shall consist of not less than three (3) and not more than nine (9) members who shall assume all powers and duties of KSA 19-3601a. The members of the Board of Trustees shall consist of not more than one (1) appointed from each participating township and not more than one (1) from each participating city. Each trustee shall be appointed by the Board of Barton County Commissioners. Trustees shall serve without compensation.

Upon initial appointment following the adoption of this Resolution, four (4) members selected shall serve for a term ending on December 31 of the next full calendar year and five (5) one full calendar year later. Thereafter, all appointees for full terms would be made by the County Commission following an open application period. Terms shall be for two (2) years.

The Board of Trustees shall organize annually in January by electing from among its members a Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson, Secretary and Treasurer. The Board shall have regular meetings as is required by Kansas law to conduct the business of the Fire District No. 2.

FURTHER, the Board of Trustees, in the same manner as provided by KSA 19-3612d, may make an annual tax levy, not to exceed nine (9) mills, upon all the taxable tangible property of Fire District No. 2, to be leveled and collected as other taxes, at a rate fixed in accordance with the approved budget.

FURTHER, this Resolution shall be published one time in the official County newspaper.

ADOPTED this 14th day of May, 2018.

ATTEST:

Jennifer Schartz, Chairman

Jennifer Schartz, Cha