RESOLUTION 2015-05

ESTABLISHING COMMISSION DISTRICTS FOR BARTON COUNTY, KANSAS, AND RESCINDING RESOLUTION 2012-04, SAME, ADOPTED JANUARY 17, 2012

- **WHEREAS**, the voters of Barton County approved five (5) County Commission Districts at an election held November 5, 2002, pursuant to K.S.A. 19-204, and amendments thereto; and
- WHEREAS, the Board of County Commissioners of Barton County, Kansas, per K.S.A. 19-204 shall meet and divide the County into five districts as compact and equal in population as possible and number them and, further, such districts shall be subject to alteration at least once every three years; and
- **WHEREAS**, the population figures as used herein were certified to the Kansas Secretary of State by the Division of the Budget on July 1, 2011, and is the most recent data available.
- NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Board of County Commissioners of Barton County, Kansas, hereby designate the following areas as the Commission Districts for 2015:
- 1. The First District shall consist of:

All of the to	ollowing Townships Albion	60
		63
	Beaver	99
	Buffalo	417
	Cheyenne	207
	Clarence	117
	Cleveland	42
	Eureka	82
	Fairview	50
	Grant	55
	North Homestead	111
	South Homestead	322
	Pawnee Rock	134
	Union	67
	Walnut	114
	Wheatland	53
All of the fo	ollowing Cities, Excluding Great Bend	
	Albert	175
	Galatia	39
	Hoisington	2,706
	Olmitz	114
	Pawnee Rock	239
	Susank	34
The follow	ing portion of the City of Great Bend	None
TOTAL		5,240

2. The Second District shall consist of:

All of the following Townships All of the following Cities, Excluding Great Bend		None None
	First Precinct of the First Ward	1,602
	Third Precinct of the First Ward	1,093
	First Precinct of the Second Ward	1,438
	Second Precinct of the Second Ward	1,176
TOTAL		5,309

3. The Third District shall consist of:

All of the fo	ollowing Townships	
	Great Bend Township A	1,539
All of the following Cities, Excluding Great Bend		None
The follow	ing portion of the City of Great Bend	
	Second Precinct of the First Ward	1,322
	Second Precinct of the Fourth Ward	1,471
	Third Precinct of the Fourth Ward	1,423
TOTAL		5,755

4. The Fourth District shall consist of:

All of the fo	ollowing Townships	
	Comanche	462
	Independent	113
	Lakin	262
	Logan	138
	South Bend	674
All of the fo	ollowing Cities, Excluding Great Bend	
	Claflin	645
	Ellinwood	2,131
The follow	ring portion of the City of Great Bend	
	First Precinct of the Fourth Ward	1,308
TOTAL		5,733

5. The Fifth District shall consist of:

All of the fo	ollowing Townships	
	Great Bend Township B	212
	Liberty	262
All of the following Cities, Excluding Great Bend		None
The follow	ing portion of the City of Great Bend	
	Third Precinct of the Second Ward	1,242
	First Precinct of the Third Ward	1,064
	Second Precinct of the Third Ward	1,389
	Third Precinct of the Third Ward	1,468
TOTAL		5,637

FURTHER, that Resolution 2012-04, Establishing Commission Districts for Barton County, Kansas, adopted January 17, 2012, is hereby rescinded.

ADOPTED this 26th day of January, 2015.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

Kenny Schremmer, Chairman

Don Davis, Commissioner

Homer Kruckenberg, Commissioner

Jennifer Schartz, Commissioner

Alicia Straub, Commissioner

ATTEST:

Donna Zimmerman

County Clerk

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Richard A. Boeckman,

County Counselor